Guide to the Census
SacState University Library SacState University Library Header Image  
Resources & Collections  Library Services  About the Library  News & Announcements
 

GUIDE TO THE CENSUS



CONTENTS: What is the Census?
2000 and 1990 Decennial Census
Other Decennial Censuses
Other Censuses
Census Schedules
Indexes for Census Statistics
California and other States' Data

What is the Census?

A census is a count of the population of a country at a fixed date. National governments conduct censuses to determine how many people live in a different areas of the country; to assess whether or not the population is growing, stable, or declining in the country as a whole, and in particular parts of the country; and to describe the characteristics of the population in terms of age, sex, ethnic background, marital status, income and other variables. (Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census, p. ix.)

The first census of the United States was in 1790. The U.S. Census Bureau conducts a census of the population every 10 years. Additional information on the census and the Census Bureau is available from:
  • Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census  2 NORTH Reference HA 37 U55 E53 2000
        Provides articles on topics concerning the U.S. census.

  • U.S. Census Bureau  http://www.census.gov/
Return to top of the page

2000 and 1990 DECENNIAL CENSUS

2000 Decennial Census
  • 2000 census data is available on the web at the Census Bureau's American Factfinder.  (http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/BasicFactsServlet)  You can begin your search using the Basic Facts features. Choose to see results in a table or map; then open the Show Me dialog box to choose a table. Continue to specify the information you need using the other dialog boxes.

    Some of the other features of this site includes datasets, mapping data, economic censuses, and searching for census information by a street address.

    The U.S. Census Bureau also provides access to the this census through its
    Census 2000 Gateway  (http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html). This site offers such features at quick state and county data, comparisons of information to the 1990 census, and copies of the short and long forms used to conduct the census.
1990 Decennial Census
  • The easiest way to locate 1990 census data is through the Web at Census '90  (http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen1990.html)from the U.S. Census Bureau. This site also includes bulletins and reports that analyzes 1990 census data, the questionnaires, and some historical comparisons between different censuses.

    The CSUS Library has the 1990 Decennial Census CDROM format and in print format. To access these formats contact Ben Amata, Government Documents Librarian.
Return to top of the page

OTHER DECENNIAL CENSUSES

EUREKA
  • The Library has historical decennial censuses in paper format from 1850 to current housed in the Government Documents collection (2nd floor North). Some are cataloged and can be looked up in EUREKA. One can browse the collection under the call number C 3.223.

    Contact Ben Amata, Government Documents Librarian, for help locating census information in EUREKA.

Web Access Other Libraries
  • California State Library
    http://www.library.ca.gov/
    The California State Library has an extensive collection of historical decennial census data from 1790 to the present. Call first at (916)654-0069.

  • University of California Davis
    http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/
    UC Davis also has an extensive collection of historical decennial census data from 1790 to the present. Call first at (530) 752-1624.
Return to top of the page

OTHER CENSUSES

Around 1940, the Census Bureau started to conduct separate censuses published between the decennials. They are the agriculture, economic (business), government, mining, and transportation censuses.

Before the late 1990's they were published in paper format. They now can be found at the Bureau's web site at http://www.census.gov by searching for the subject. In some cases, they may be issued only on CDROM and available in the Library's Government Documents computer cabinets. Use the follow to locate specific types of censuses:

Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972 (2 NORTH Gov Docs C 3.163/3:790-972)
American Statistics Index (2 NORTH Index Area & LOWER LEVEL) HAZ 7754 U5 A46
Return to top of the page

CENSUS SCHEDULES

The schedules are the records of who lived where when the decennial censuses were taken and are highly valued by genealogists. There is a 72 year restriction on the release of these records. To date, the 1930 schedules are available on microfilm. A fire destroyed almost all of the 1890 records.

The CSUS Library has purchased microfilm for northern California cities and counties. They are available in the Gov Docs microfiche cabinets on 2 North under the call number C 3.23. The contents note indicates which counties are on which reel of microfilm. This film needs to be viewed in the Library Media Center (1st floor).

Census schedules are also available at:

The California History Room
http://www.library.ca.gov/calhist/index.html
The California State Library has all the microfilm for the State of California that has been released.

National Archives and Record Administration Pacific Region
http://www.archives.gov/facilities/ca/san_francisco.html
The National Archives' office in San Bruno California has microfilm for all states and years released.

The Mormon Temple in Sacramento collects microfilm selectively. Contact the Sacramento Family History Center at 916-487-2090 for more information.
Return to top of the page

INDEXES FOR CENSUS STATISTICS

These paper indexes allow one to identify the types of statistics that one will find in the historical decennial censuses and in which volumes they are contained.
  • Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972
    2 NORTH Gov Docs C 3.163/3:790-972
  • Population Information in Nineteenth Century Census Volumes
    2 NORTH Reference HAZ 7164 .D3 S44 1983  (indexes censuses from 1790-1890)
  • Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes, 1900-1940
    2 NORTH Reference HAZ 7164 .D3 S45 1985
  • Population information in twentieth century census volumes, 1950-1980
    2 NORTH Reference HAZ 7164 .D3 S46 1988
  • American Statistics Index
    2 NORTH Index Area & LOWER LEVEL HAZ 7754 .U5 A46
Return to top of the page

CALIFORNIA AND OTHER STATE DATA

Census 2000 Gateway  http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html
This site includes State and County Quick Facts (see below); data highlights by state, and census information by zip code.

State Data Center Program  http://www.census.gov/sdc/www/
Obtain 2000 census state information by clicking on a U.S. map or from a variety of state and local data center.

State & County Quick Facts  http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/
Choose 200 census information by state; also includes some thematic maps.

Sacramento Area Council of Governments- Demographics  http://www.sacog.org/demographics/
Includes census statistics, growth forecasts, and census tract maps for Sacramento city and county. Also include information for El Dorado, Placer, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba Counties and the cities within each county.

California Department of Finance Demographic Research Unit  http://www.dof.ca.gov/html/Demograp/druhpar.htm The source for state planning and budget this cite contains research reports, spread sheets, data files, and news releases, etc.

Return to top of the page

A Sacramento State Library Research Guide. Contact Ben Amata, Reference Librarian at bamata@csus.edu for questions/comments Last updated 6/09