African Studies


Background Info
Taking a few minutes to read about your topic in a specialized encyclopedia, dictionary or handbook may be one of the most effective and time saving research tips in this guide. These can help you define unfamiliar terms, locate quick biographical information, verify dates and events. Encyclopedia articles are often followed by carefully selected bibliographies or lists of references to other works, useful items to have as you begin looking for additional information. The following are located on the Reference shelves behind the Reference Desk area.

Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Arican History and Culture

Ref DT3.P27 2001

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind

Ref GN307.I44 1990

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Africa

Ref DT3.C35

Encyclopedia of Africa

Ref DT351.E53 1994

Black Chronology from 4000 B.C. to the Abolition of the Slave Trade

Ref DT17.D5

Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life

Ref GN 333 .W67 1998 vol 1-4

Africa South of the Sahara (EUROPA Publications)

Ref DT 351.A37

The Middle East and North Africa (EUROPA Publications)

Ref DS49.M5

A Pan-African Encyclopedia

Ref DT14.P28 2003


HISTORICAL DICTIONARIES UNDER INDIVIDUAL COUNTRIES
Example: Historical dictionary of (county)

Ref DT433.515.O36 Kenya

Ref DT 283.7 .H43 Algeria


ATLASES

Atlas of World History - 2 North Atlas G1030.T54

The History Atlas of Africa - 2 North Atlas G 2446 .S1 K3 1998


Finding articles
Try starting your search with a periodical index which arranges articles by subject. There are many indexes to choose from, some available in online formats. Many indexes have not been put online and can only be accessed in print. These are located in the Reference Area. An often overlooked resource for journal articles are the bibliographies that can be found at the end of related journal articles or in books on your topic. There are even specialized indexes that allow you to search just for bibliographies. Stop by the Reference Desk for help.

Africa Research Bulletin

Index Table 14

BBC Focus on Africa

http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/focus/index.htm

Electronic Newspapers

http://bob.ucsc.edu/library/news/newsaf.html

Index on Africa

http://www.afrika.no/


Databases relevant to African Studies: Link to African Studies Resouces will provide links to the following databases.

ABI (Business)

Economic Literature

Ethnic Newswatch

GenderWatch

Historical Abstracts

Infotrac: Expanded Academic

EBSCOhost: Academic Search

MLA (literature)

 


Finding books
EUREKA is CSUS's local online library system. It allows you to locate books, periodicals, government publications, music scores, films and more. EUREKA also provides status information, e.g. if the material is checked out. It does not, however, index journal contents or include the full text of articles.

Library of Congress Subject Headings
EUREKA and some online databases use "Library of Congress Subject Headings" (large red books at the Reference Desk) to catalog books. These subject headings are slow to change and sometimes removed from contemporary usage; they are, however, extremely useful in locating books and articles. Subject headings:

Africa, East--History--Sources
Africa, Sub-Saharan--Politics
South Africa--Apartheid

Christianity--Africa
Islam--Africa
Women--Kenya

Slavery--Africa
Rites and Ceremonies--Africa
Nationalism--Mozambique

Individual Countries:
Ghana--History
Zimbabwe--Bibliography
Nigeria--Social Conditions

Languages:
Swahili langauge
Swahili-speaking peoples

Individual Tribes/Peoples:
Bantu-Speaking Peoples
Masai

Ethnic groups or geographical locations can be substituted for other groups or locations. Some names and organizations can also be used in subject searches.

BIOGRAPHIES

An African Biographical Dictionary

Ref DT18.B78 1994

Historic world leaders

CT 103 .H5 1994

Dictionary of African historical biography

Ref DT352.6 .56


Further resesearch
ANTHROPOLOGICAL RESOURCES

 
Encyclopedia of Cultrual Anthropology Ref gn307.E52 1996
Encyclopedia of Human Eveloption and Prehistory Ref GN281.E53 2000
History of Physical Anthropology Ref GN50.3.H57 1997
Peoples of the World: Africans South of the Sahara Ref GN645.M67

Encyclopedia of World Cultures: Africa

Ref GN 550 .E63 1991 v. 9

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES
A bibliography is a list of books, articles and sometimes other materials such as films and recordings. They can be entire books, within books or at the end of journal articles. These are often overlooked resources that can be a treasure trove of related sources. Some are even annotated, with short descriptions of each entry. A well-organized, carefully selected and annotated bibliography can lead you to the best and most relevant sources on your topic.

Reference Guide to Africa Ref DTZ3501.K15 1999
African Women: a general bibliography, 1976-1985 Ref HQ 1787 .B85 1989
Women of eastern and southern Africa : a bibliography, 1976-1985 HQ 1787 .B855 1989
Women under the sun: African women in politics and production HQZ 7961 .S54 1988
Women in the Third World Ref HQ1870.9.K58 1997
Under individual countries (Examples):  
Senegal DT549.22.D44 2 South
Ethiopia DT373.D613 2 South
Ghana DT510.M94 1991 2 South


WWW

The All Internet Guide  Ref DT2.5.Y68 2001


International Links on Women:
Maintained by Kathryn Blackmer Reyes. University Library. CSU Sacramento. Rm. 3032. 916.278.7784. Last Modified: October 1, 2003